Selection Process

Selection Process

Each year a new committee is chosen to review nominations and select award recipients. Committee members include previous award recipients, support, service, sponsored research, and administrative staff members, and faculty. Every effort is made to create a diverse group with representatives from many different schools and departments across the Institute. Committee members are not permitted to submit nominations and are not eligible to receive an award during the time they serve.

The committee evaluates the nominations based on how well they address the questions posed in the nomination form and the criteria of the specific award category. In some cases, committee members may speak to "additional contacts" given on the nomination form to gain further insight. The committee then meets to make its final selections.

2014 MIT Excellence Awards Selection Committee

Michael Howard, Vice President for Finance,
Office of the Executive Vice President for Finance

Roberta Allard, Senior Administrative Assistant
Vice President for Research 

Hayami Arakawa, Associate, MIT Hobby Shop,
Division of Student Life

Gerald Augeri, Asst Division Head, Air & Missile Defense Technology,
Lincoln Laboratory

Ellen Beachy, Program Administrator, Human Resources,
Lincoln Laboratory

Leonard Browne,
Administrative Assistant,
HQ, Information Services & Technology 

Kim Cowperthwaite, Program Assistant II, MIT Executive MBA,
Sloan School of Management

Jessica Holland, Associate Staff,
Lincoln Laboratory

Shannon Hughes
, Research Scientist & Professor 
Department of Biological Engineering

Ana E. Ludwig, Administrative Assistant II,
School of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences

Thomas McKrell, Nuclear Researcher,
School of Engineering

Jay Perault,  Deputy Chief,
MIT Campus Police

Ronald Stoute, Project Technician,
Office of Environment, Health & Safety

For Information
Please address any questions to Cori Champagne, the Rewards and Recognition Program Administrator in Human Resources at 617-253-5986 or