Council on Staff Diversity and Inclusion

The Council on Staff Diversity and Inclusion is an advisory body charged with encouraging and informing efforts to utilize the diversity of MIT's staff to advance the work of departments, laboratories, and centers. The diversity of staff includes racial, cultural, demographic, cognitive, and technical characteristics.

The Council on Staff Diversity and Inclusion provides a forum for identifying sharing, and implementing effective diversity management programs and practices; encourages new programs and practices; and recognizes successful efforts. It also identifies and suggests ways to address problems and concerns related to equal employment opportunity and works to create synergy among faculty, staff, and student diversity management efforts. The Executive Vice President and the Vice President for Human Resources are the Council's executive sponsors.

Mission Statement

The Council on Staff Diversity and Inclusion will champion diversity and inclusion initiatives across the Institute. Our mission is to implement, catalyze and share efforts promoting an inclusive environment by providing knowledge, programs, and resources.

Council members, who serve as ambassadors from Departments, Labs, & Centers, will assess needs and identify issues and opportunities of inclusion Institute wide and in our local areas. We will work to ensure management commitment, leadership and support. We will work to ensure shared accountability, encourage community engagement and increase visibility of inclusive messaging.

The Council will develop strategic partnerships among the DLC's; seek opportunities for collaboration; share best practices; and build on existing synergies to promote a diverse and inclusive workplace at MIT.

Vision Statement

The Council on Staff Diversity and Inclusion aspires to play a leading role in advancing staff diversity and inclusion at MIT. We will create an inclusive workplace community that values, leverages, develops and retains the talent MIT needs.

Council Members

The Council on Staff Diversity and Inclusion email is csdi@mit.edu.

Council on Staff Diversity and Inclusion
Sharon Bridburg
Director of Human Resources
bridburg@mit.edu Office of Undergraduate Education
Gustavo Burkett
Senior Associate Dean for Diversity and Community Involvement
gburkett@mit.edu Division of Student Life
Shannon Ciempa
HR Manager II
sciempa@mit.edu MITIMCO
Nina Davis-Millis
Director of Community Support & Staff Development
ninadm@mit.edu
14S-320
Libraries
Catherine Gamon
Director of MBA Student Affairs
cgamon@mit.edu
E52-126C
Sloan School of Management
Katie Galan
RD HR Strategic Talent Management
kgalan@mit.edu
W98-432
Resource Development
Kelly Imberman
Director, Human Resources Consulting
imberman@mit.edu
EE20-463
Sloan School of Management
Alyce Johnson
Manager of Staff Diversity & Inclusion 
alycej@mit.edu
NE49-5000
Human Resources
Barbara Johnson
Customer Support Project Manager
bdoyle@mit.edu
W91-203A
Information Systems & Technology
Bill Kindred
Manager, Diversity and Inclusion
bkindred@ll.mit.edu
LL-S2-128
Lincoln Laboratory
Sofia Leung
Teaching and Learning Program Manager
sofial@mit.edu
14S-152M
Libraries
Diane Magnuson
Manager of Diversity and Inclusion
magn@med.mit.edu
E23-243
Medical
Sarah Mattivello
HR Administrator
smattiv@mit.edu
7-203
Office of the President
Kristin McCoy
Dean for Undergraduate Education
kmccoy@mit.edu
7-139
DUE
Emily Neill
Project Manager
erneill@mit.edu
14E-316
School of Humanities, Arts and Sciences
Kwadwo Poku
Manager of Diversity Recruitment and Initiatives
poku@mit.edu
7-346
School of Architecture and Planning
Elliott Richman
HR Manager
richman1@mit.edu
E49-5000
Human Resources
Jill Soucy
Senior Director of HR & Strategic Talent Management
jsoucy@mit.edu
W98-420
Alumni Association
Bori Stoyanova
Personnel Administrator
bori@mit.edu
1-282
School of Engineering
Ann Warner-Harvey
Director of Human Resources
awharvey@mit.edu
NE49-4000
Office of the Vice President for Finance
Heather Williams
Assistant Dean
heatherg@mit.edu
6-131
School of Science

For CSDI Members

See resources available to CSDI members only. (If you need help with access, contact Libby Mahaffy at lamaha@mit.edu.)