The Council on Family and Work was established by President Vest in 1992. Comprised of presidentially appointed faculty, staff and student members, the Council serves in an advisory capacity on issues pertaining to family and work and the quality of life on the MIT campus. The Council’s primary objectives are to identify and evaluate family and work related issues, and to develop recommendations for MIT's senior administration.

Council Members

Name

Title, Department

Email

Phone

Anne McCants, Co-Chair Professor of History and Head, History Section amccants@mit.edu 617-258-6669

Jim Bales, Co- Chair

Instructor, Edgerton Center Assistant Director

bales@mit.edu

617-253-6178

Sally Haslanger

Professor, Linguistics and Philosophy

shaslang@mit.edu

617-253-4458

Alison Malcolm

Assistant Professor, Earth, Atmospheric, & Planetary Sciences

amalcolm@mit.edu

617-324-1974

Tim Kowalczyk

Graduate Student, Chemistry

tkowalcz@mit.edu

617-253-1539

Yin-Jen (Angela) Wang

Undergraduate, Class of 2013, Architecture

yinjwang@mit.edu

617-953-4293

Shirley A. Entzminger

WGSSI-Sr. Co-convener 2012;
Administrative Assistant II, Mathematics

daisymae@math.mit.edu

617-253-4347

Ann E.W. Harvey

Director of Human Resources and Administration, Office of the VP for Finance

awharvey@mit.edu

617-253-0049

Alyce Johnson

Manager of Staff Diversity and Inclusion,
Human Resources

alycej@mit.edu

617-452-4516

Bernadette Johnson

Chief Technology Officer, Lincoln Lab

bernadette@ll.mit.edu

781-981-7020

Maryanne Kirkbride,
Ex officio member

Clinical Director for Campus Life,
Medical Department

kirk@med.mit.edu

617-253-5240

Lydia Snover,
Ex officio member

Director of Institutional Research,
Office of the Provost

lsnover@mit.edu

617--253-5838